Perfect…

At 2am, I felt my oldest dog jump off the bed and heard him running around the house like a maniac.  I got out of bed and went to find him, just in time to see him pooping all over the floor.  He NEVER has accidents so I can see it all over his face that he feels bad about it but he also just feels bad.  I took him for a quick walk, cleaned up the floors and then went back to bed.   Fathead followed with me with his head down.  At 3 am and 4:30 am, we repeated this same scenario.  He is almost 15 and bad days are going to happen.  When my husband woke up at 6am, he found me and all 4 dogs on the sofa watching TV.  At some point, I just gave up on sleep and was hanging with the dogs so I could be alert for any new “activity.”  At around 6:30am, it became clear that going to work was not going to happen so I made arrangements with work and continued taking care of the dogs.  Our morning generally consisted of this same pattern until Fathead’s meds kicked in.  Having a dog with inflammatory bowel disease is sometimes an adventure!  Fathead was exhausted and so were the other dogs from following him and me around to see what in the world was going on.  By about noon we were all napping on the sofa for about an hour.

I got up after a little nap and I have spent the rest of the day taking care of the dogs and the foster dogs at Urban Pug Farm, as well as taking care of a few things around the house.  I have done some laundry, some dishes, some sorting and organizing.  My dogs all got to have a longer break in the yard to enjoy the fresh air and sunshine.  It is gorgeous here so the windows are open, the sun is shining and there is a great breeze through the house.

Lately, Todd and I have been feeling a little bit like we haven’t been able to catch a break.  But today I stopped to realize how perfect this day really is for me!  It is amazing how perfect changes for you over time.  A decade ago, a perfect day would not have involved sick pets, chores and sleeplessness.  Today, I am so glad to have a day to take a deep breathe, step back from work, spend time with my aging pets who sadly won’t be here forever.  I have a healthy family, a nice house and really, my life is so good in so many ways.  So, Fathead…I am sorry you had to have stomach issues, but I thank you for the reminder to slow down and take a break to enjoy this PERFECT day!

Perfect Day

 

Leave a Reply

