To commit or not to commit…

Commitment.jpg

As I said in a previous post, I am very involved in animal rescue, typically pugs and pug mixes but we have been known to take in a handful of other types of dogs.  Generally we foster the medically needy/fragile dogs or the senior dogs in our home.  Part of why we do that is because our personal dogs are seniors and so these dogs fit into our home the best.

Animals are my passion.  I know that isn’t the case for everyone so I can understand and appreciate the fact that I am probably overly involved with animals in the eyes of other or perhaps ridiculous in my commitment to these animals.  It doesn’t bother me if people don’t understand why I put as much into it as I do or why I feel that treating animals with dignity is important.

One thing that really gets me heated – and has happened THREE times in a week – is dealing with people who say they are committed to animals and then do an almost immediate turn-around!  I adopted Rick James (see other blog post) out to a family who knew all about his special needs.  We had reviewed EVERYTHING!  I gave them plenty of time to discuss his specific needs and gave them time to think it over.  They were sure he was the one.  They drove off with him and 3.5 hours later called to say they were bringing him back.  He hadn’t done anything wrong but they had realized how much of a commitment it was to own a pet with special needs.  The adopter was hysterically crying and when she got back to me 4 hours later was still crying.  RJ was shaking and totally confused.  A few days later, we find a new foster home for a different dog.  That foster was practically beating down our door to get her first foster dog.  The dog was delivered to her and was settling in.  She emails us 24 hours later that she is bringing her back.  Again, the dog didn’t do anything wrong but the new “foster” said that having the responsibility of a dog was causing her anxiety and she realized she wasn’t ready.  Again, another transition for the dog.  Then, later that SAME day, another adopter who had the dog for less than 24 hours called to say they were bringing her back because they realized that having 2 dogs was too much.  Again the dog didn’t do anything wrong.  Our rescue successfully adopts out over 350 dogs a year and most of those adoptions are very successful.  But typically when they don’t work out, it is a problem with the people and not the dogs.

We don’t ask people to fill out an application.  They come to us.  I guess I just wish that people understood this was a commitment for the lifetime of the dog.  You need to know yourself before you fill out an application, waste a lot of people’s time getting your application approved and disrupt the life of a dog who generally speaking if they are in rescue have already experienced one or more major transitions already.  Are you ready to alter your schedule to let the dog out on time?  Are you willing to give your dog the time and attention they require to be happy?  Are you able to financially provide the things that they need like food, preventatives, medicine, etc?  No???  Then please don’t apply.

Okay, done complaining…for now 🙂  Enjoy a few pictures of some of my fosters from 2015…

10256160_10156535940845721_7290599114519294249_o.jpg

 

Leave a comment