Fathead…

Fathead is the reason we are where we are today.  Todd and I would live a very different life if it weren’t for this one amazing dog.

DSC_0497

He is handsome, isn’t he???  When we got married, my husband Todd had never really had a dog.  He knew of a pug, named Frank (of course that was his name…thanks Men in Black!)  and said he was a really cool dog.  We decided to get a dog and because of Frank, Todd really wanted a pug.  I said fine.  We had all kinds of dogs growing up so any kind was fine with me.  We heard about this adorable pug named Fathead that was with a breeder in Virginia and decided that when we were ready, we would get one of his puppies.  He was so handsome and his face was so cute…who could resist?

A few months after we got married, we saw that they were retiring Fathead and he was available for adoption himself.  Todd jumped on the chance as my Christmas/Birthday present and we went to get this guy the very next day.  I could never have guessed how much my life would change from the introduction to this perfect, lovable, amazing dog.

DSC_0575

Almost immediately, Fathead became my husband’s best friend and my constant shadow. I absolutely LOVED this dog!  I happened to be researching pugs one day and stumbled across the website for the Mid-Atlantic Pug Rescue.  I have to admit that at that point I was pretty ignorant about the rescue world and how many dogs were in need of good homes.  I was SHOCKED to see the number of pugs looking for a family.  As I watched the website, I would see pugs get adopted but a seemingly never ending group of pugs were right behind them, in need of care, love and a family of their own.

I signed up to foster through MAPR.  Our first dog had serious skin issues.  Our second foster had to have both of his eyes removed (more on this dog in a later blog).  Our 3rd was a senior that was basically being thrown away by his family.  It was a never ending stream of pugs in need that has continued to this day.

Our amazing Fathead has been a great buddy to these dogs.  He has snuggled them after their surgeries, shared snacks and attention and is overall leader of the dogs in our house.  He has developed a BFF through Gooch, who is a hospice pug who has been with us for over 3 years and is as much a part of this family as any of us at this point.

DSC_0532

Fathead is the kind of dog we will never be able to replace.  He has been with us through the beginning of our marriage, several moves, many many foster dogs, family struggles, etc and he is always the faithful companion who greets you every day, snuggles you every night and is always, always the best listener.  I really couldn’t love Fathead more.  Even though he once dragged meat out of the trash can and ate it on my pillow…and even though he once climbed onto a chair and then onto a counter top to eat all the chocolate out of an Easter basket…and even though he once managed to knock a bottom of Tums on to the floor and was pooping chalky poop for a week…and even though he has done a whole bunch of other mischievous things…when I look at his face, I can only see the undisputed love he brings to our little family.  We LOVE you Fathead!!!  Hope you will break records and be with us forever!

DSC_0487

2 thoughts on “Fathead…

  1. Aww, he’s so cute! I have a pug too, her name is Libby and she’s almost 11 years old. Pugs’ faces are so unique looking and they have the littlest biggest personalities that just never get old! I don’t know about you, but I really think pugs are one of the funniest dogs out there. Libby constantly makes me laugh with all the sneezing and weird noises she makes.
    Really liked this post! I look forward to reading more! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

